Every Programmer Should Watch Conference Talks on YouTube

I was going to write a longer article to convince everyone to watch the conferences but Its much better to give a summary of my favorite talks and hopefully that will be persuasive enough~

"The Tragedy of systemd" - Benno Rice

In an age where it is cool to not like systemd Benno Rice comes with an unique perspective having been a FreeBSD developer. He is a legend in the industry and made me realize the importance of change.

"Rust Before Main" - Ryan Levick

Before learning assembly I didn't think about how compilation and machine instructions work. This talk helped me understand Rust internals and appreciate them.

Software is hard and the web is broken. if you don't understand this you will after this talk.

"The foundations of the Elixir type system" - José Valim

I AM SO EXCITED FOR THE ELIXIR TYPE SYSTEM, just had to get that out of my chest. Elixir is my favorite functional programming language I love the syntax and community. Who better than José Valim himself to tell you about his programming language! Trust me you will love this regardless of whether you know elixir or not.

"What UNIX Cost Us" - Benno Rice

Benno Rice with another classic.


Most of the knowledge in software engineering is super difficult to gain solely by personal experience, I hope these talks inspire you and you explore further!